Revenge

I do love plays on words. As I’ve been digging about the world wide web for ideas on forgiveness, I’ve found more quotes that I can possibly use. Nonetheless, here are two seemingly conflictual quotes. Billings and Schiller approach the relationship between revenge and forgiveness from drastically different directions

Josh Billings

Josh Billings

There is no revenge so complete as forgiveness.  ~ Josh Billings, 1818-1885

Josh in a marvelous fashion touches on what I’ve found myself guilty of and more than a few of my family, friends and clients. I am intentionally leaving my point unspoken, for the moment. Some will quickly or even sooner see my point. How many, though, won’t see the truth of Josh Billings joining of those two words?

Most of us know the deep conflict between a common desire to have revenge and the consequences flowing from those actions. A few of us have little on toward no sense conflict about drawing ‘blood for blood‘. The blood those few draw can be as simple as inconvenience, or loss of pocket change. Of course, those few can also can easily go right on toward drawing, literal, blood.

Friedrich von Schiller

Friedrich von Schiller

 

Revenge is barren of itself: it is the dreadful food it feeds on; its delight is murder, and its end is despair.  ~ Friedrich von Schiller, 1759-1805

Friedrich, however, moves us into the despair, which is what, close to one hundred percent of us have come to know through revenge. I have always seen a waining of desired luster in my own eyes. Every actions I have taken which comes toward revenge eventually leave me empty or at least melancholy.

Unknown to but definitely felt by most of us are those fabricated acts of forgiveness. People who fake us out are close relatives of the leech. Those know how to draw a host of goods who do not understand let alone practice forgiveness.

Leave a Reply

