Reframing humility

cs-lewisC.S. Lewis: “Humility”  ~  “Humility is not thinking more of yourself or less of yourself; it’s thinking of yourself less.”

Earlier, I found this C. S. Lewis quote posted on Dover Beach which then set off more of my playing hide and seek with forgiveness.  At least in my mind, humility is seated deeply in being able to do more than offer forgiveness.

As Lewis put it toward humility, forgiving doesn’t require our forgetting that minor toward major wound. It is a shifting away from speaking the words, “I forgive you,” on over toward living out how forgiving changes my life both toward myself and the other(s) who hurt you or me.

Leave a Reply

