Man is a mystery

Fyodor Dostoevsky

Fyodor Dostoevsky

“Man is a mystery. It needs to be unraveled, and if you spend your whole life unraveling it, don’t say that you’ve wasted time. I am studying that mystery because I want to be a human being.”
― Fyodor Dostoevsky

Across the course of my years, I have had to deal with a deep passion. Mine is akin to Dostoevsky’s in that I also want to take hold of things I don’t understand. Like everyone I grew up with there was and still is a uniform desire among children to play. Riding on the tail of our fun is understanding. That really doesn’t come to an end, either. Trekking on into adulthood on through a few decades I have seen a broad array of what we chose to do and what our toys have become.

Screwdrivers, sticks, dolls, stones and those cars and trucks all of us have occupied hours of most everyday with have come on over into adulthood with us. Nothing new in that is there? My curiosity wasn’t unique but somewhat out of sync with most everyone else I grew up with. Only one other of my childhood peers went on into the academic world and she teaches at the University of British Columbia. All of the others had gone on into ranch/farming or other kinds of hands on work.

Taking on the mysteries discovered in and wandered on through childhood and into our adult years is healthy. What I caught sight of all around and yes within me points back at what Dostoevsky bespoke. Be warned, though, I don’t think Fyodor was being this simplistic.

Leave a Reply

