Eucharist

“If (the priest) is facing the assembly and the assembly is gathered around the altar, you’re making a kind of visual symbol,” Driscoll says, “a symbol of the whole community united.”

On the other hand, he says, it would be wrong to describe a priest facing east, in the traditional style, as “turning his back to the people.”

“Christ the priest turns toward his father with his people behind him, that’s what it means,” he says. “You can’t see what’s happening, but in fact there is nothing to see. The mystery is invisible no matter which way you turn.”*

Personally, I have known both fashionings of the eucharist. My disagreement is with what is not be attended to. While I prefer fashioning the celebration as the Eastern Church does I negate neither fashion Francis put forward. My desire is to know, at least, that the priest and I have shifted our attention from those physical objects and behaviors out through the iconic window those serve as, to the one using the whole set to be with us.

I am not proclaiming those items as symbols. I, as well, do not hold to the literal. I experience a mystery which I do not need to rationally explain. Unlike the Theotokos, my mind is incapable of encapsulating the whole of God. So then, my goal is to let the Spirit play with me through the eucharist and more. Slowly changing my window to a door I pray the Spirit will progressively get me to come out and really play!

*”Mass confusion: Misunderstanding at root of ‘liturgy wars.’ by Francis X. Rocca  http://ncronline.org/news/theology/mass-confusion-misunderstanding-root-liturgy-wars
Leave a Reply

