Dispassion

“When the intellect of the solitary attains some small degree of dispassion, it mounts the horse of self-esteem and immediately rides off into cities, taking its fill of the lavish praise accorded to its repute.”  –  Evagrios the Solitary, Philokalia, Vol. 1 pg. 47

I am glad that my career partially prepared me to deal with the conflicts inherent in discovering dispassion. Honestly, Evagrios the Solitary’s suggestionalone almost discourages me. Yet, the further I have read in these volumes, which honestly, isn’t yet nearing the last volume, the more I realize how necessary it is to not trust in how I have learned to see such things.

Leave a Reply

